Hey all, I am fairly new with C++ and I registered here to ask for suggestions on how I can create my project.

I proposed to my professor that I will create a scientific calculator with "additional functions". By additional functions I mean like a SC with that can solve the missing side of a right triangle with the pythagorean theorem, an SC that can convert values to various english measurements, and other stuff that I can think about. Another thing that I added is that I will create a calculator that can convert any decimal value to hecadecimal, binary and octal.

But now I can't seem to think how can I start this. I have thought of using switches and functions to distinguish each operation to be used. I already stated in my proposal that my calculator can only do one operation at a time and my professor accepted that fact. So what can I do to exclude each and every function?

I have also thought about like saving the value computed and then the user can choose what to operation to use next on the newly acquired value.

Even though my professor approved my proposal he exclaimed that my calculator should include graphics and sound effects, how can I do that? The only thing that I thought for graphics is to cout a layout of some sort. And about the sound thing the beep is the only one I can think of.

So far we have only studied up to functions (but I think we will be only learning up to arrays by the end of this term). What we have tackled so far is:

basic cin and cout
if and else statements
switches
loops
functions

That's all of it. All very basic.

Well, that's all. Hope I didn't bore you or anything. Thank you so much for reading and any help and suggestions on how I can create this program will surely be appreciated. Thank you and good day!

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

So, let me get this straight: you told your prof that you will write a program that you have no clue how to write??? Like biting off more than you can chew?