hi guys, I am a new student in learning C, I have about a month of experience on it and i am learning now how to use loops.
I wanted to write a program using loops in which i ask them to guess a password to a question i ask. (THis was a story of Ali baba , the person just needs to write open sesame to have the right answer
(!Bear with me if my programming is really bad: i know the highlighted area is wrong, any critics harsh or good will be appreciated thanks)

#include<stdio.h>

void main()
{
    char KEY = 'a';

char Guess;

char answer;

printf("You have traveled the World's Deserts and you have finally found the cave\n"
           "of Ali Baba. You see the cave shut, and you shout the secret words:"      
                );
    scanf("%s",&Guess);
do
{
if (Guess==KEY)  
    printf( "%s You have opened the Cave and took all the riches of the Bandits, Well Done \n",Guess);
  //else if( Guess!=KEY)
  //printf( "You hear the sound of hooves closing in on you its the bandits, Please hurry and try again:");
  //scanf("%s", &Guess);

}while(Guess!=KEY);
printf( "You hear the sound of hooves closing in on you its the bandits, Please hurry and try again:");
  scanf("%s", &Guess);
  system("PAUSE");  
  return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

>>scanf("%s",&Guess);
The "%s" tells scanf() that Guess is a pointer to a character array, not a single character. If all you want is a single character then call getchar() instead. (link)

If you want them to enter "open sesame", which is two words separated by a space, then its a lot easier to declare Guess as a character array then use fgets()

char Guess[80] = {0};
fgets( Guess, sizeof(Guess), stdin);

@konohastar.

We'll let you off this time ;) since that was your first post, but in future please use code tags when posting code. You'll find members of this forum more willing to help you out if you do this. Read the material at this link to learn how to post code correctly: