Hi, Im new to DaniWeb and C++ and was hoping some of you more experienced tech fellas could help me out with a problem.

I want to open a file, then read it by 5 characters at a time by putting it into a

char[5]

type of array, then analyze those 5 characters (like go to a function if one of the characters was a '<'). When thoes 5 characters have been read with a

for

or

while

loop. If someone could come up with a sample script or snippet, that would be great.

Any help would be greatly appriciated! Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Luckily for you, the c++ standard provides you with the tools necessary to open, read, and write to files. You can use these tools by including the <fstream> library. Then you can create ifstream objects that will allow you to open and read from a file, and ofstream objects that will allow you to write to a file.

Here is a pretty decent tutorial for opening, reading and writing to text files using the <fstream> library: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/files/

So, you wish to open a file and examine it's contents in 5 character increments. Since we will not be writing to file, all we will need is a 'ifstream' object.

Probably the easiest method I can think of will involve opening a file, reading its entire contents into a single <string> object, and then performing the desired operations on that string.

I'm not sure what your data will look like, so I will have to make some assumptions with this code, but feel free to modify it as you like.

Here is the pseudo code for what I am about to demonstrate:

1. create an 'ifstream' object (derived from <fstream>)
2. attempt to open an existing .txt file.
3. perform error checking (check to see if file opened correctly)
4. read the entire .txt file into a single 'string' object.
5. perform desired operations on string object (in 5 char increments)
6. close the ifstream object

Now let's translate pseudo code into c++ code:

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>