Hello all, i'm new to C++. I'm struggling to run this simple program..
I created a file called source.cpp that the code below. I have no other files in the same project..

Spec: Windows vista, Visual c++ 2008 compiler, 32bits

#include <iostream.h>
#include <time.h>

void main() {
	char sdate[9];
	char stime[9];
	_strdate( sdate );
	_strtime( stime );
	cout << "time: " << stime << " date: " << sdate;
	//cout << "Hi ";
	return 0;
}

1>time - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)

where do I find the error in detail? All isee is "1>time - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)".

Thanks.

Firstly, you should be creating it as a Win32 console project.
Secondly, #include <iostream> , as iostream.h is non-standard. Start with those and it should give you two warnings and an error. The warnings are about using your two time functions with an _s at the end, which makes them safer from buffer overflows which can be a security issue down the line. You need a using statement to clarify your cout call.

P.S. find the errors in the output tab at the bottom of the screen, after you've run your build

Edited 7 Years Ago by jonsca: n/a

This seems to have fixed it. I also changed to #include <iostream>

std::cout << "time: " << stime << " date: " << sdate;

Thank you. How would you write it?

#include <iostream>
#include <time.h>

void main() {
	char sdate[9];
	char stime[9];
	_strdate( sdate );
	_strtime( stime );
	std::cout << "time: " << stime << " date: " << sdate;
	//cout << "Hi ";
	//return 0;
	system("pause >nul");
}

you can also write using std::cout; at the top to cover every time you use it (or using namespace std; , but that's not encouraged as it defeats the purpose of having a namespace)

why is "void" doom'd?

Also is there a for loop like below in C++?

myArray[];
for (each in myArray) {
do this;
}