Hey all.
I'm really new to programming and would like some help, if you all don't mind ;)

I'm not actually having trouble with the programming, but rather, what I'm being asked to do.

Here is what I'm supposed to do (and yes, it is an assignment, but I'm only looking for help and not the answers):
# This program should read in 6 numbers from the keyboard and then indicate whether any of them were larger than 500 or smaller than 10. It is possible that both events (being larger than 500, being less than 10) occurred, that neither did or that only one of the two did. And it is possible that the same event happened more than once.

# First, write the program so that it reads in 6 numbers and echoes them to the screen. You must use a loop. Think about how it will be controlled.

# Then add in a flag that will detect numbers larger than 500. Use a bool variable for this.

# Then add in another flag that will detect numbers smaller than 10. Again use a bool variable.

# The feedback to the user should happen after (outside) the end of the loop, not during the input phase. The user is not interested in how many times an event occurred, only whether it happened or not. The feedback should have clear messages telling the user whether each event occurred or not; it should NOT just be the word 'true' or 'false' or 1 or 0.

could anyone tell me why I'm supposed to use a loop? And what flags are? We haven't gone over any of this at all.

Thanks for the help guys =),
Trip

Edit***
Sorry if i posted this in the wrong section.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I would have solved the problem as follows.
Create an array of objects of std:: pair <int, int>. In the loop, when you enter values would determine how to categorize this number. And on the test results would set the flag.
ex.:

typedef std::pair<int, int> item;
std::vector<item> array;
for ( int i = 0; i < N; i++ ) {
   std::cin >> ...
   item it;
   it.first = (value) /** fro std::cin >> */