This is a sample code I looked up. I am a rookie and I do not really understand it.

n = int(input('Enter an interger >= 0:'))
fact = 1
for i in range(2,n+1):
        fact = fact*i
print(str(n)+' factorial is '+ str(fact))

My biggest problems are:

1) for i in range(2,n+1) how do read this? I looked up the doc and it said "assigned object to target. I can identify range is the object, and i is the target. But can anyone be more specific? is 2 the start, and n+1 the increment? I come from Matlab but I have problem with this.

May someone comment on that line, in a plain word? Thank you
2) I want to restrict the limit here. I want to set range i = 1,10, because my ideal program (in a while loop is):
while 1<= n
How do I restrict i in that for loop above?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

This is a sample code I looked up. I am a rookie and I do not really understand it.

fact = 1
for i in range(2,n+1):
        fact = fact*i
print(str(n)+' factorial is '+ str(fact))

The range function will generate a list of numbers. These numbers will be in the range of the first number, 2, through 1 less than the second number. Thus if num in this case is 10 then range will create the list [2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10], because it will go from 2 to 1 less than the 2nd value (which given 10 would be 10+1 = 11).

Next for loops in Python do not work like for loops in most other languages. They instead mimic the foreach or forall loops in other languages. Thus for each iteration of the loop i will adopt the next number in the sequence until there are no numbers left in the sequence. Thus in the first iteration i is 2, then i is 3, then i is 4, until we get down to the last number of the sequence where i will be equal to that number. Once the final iteration is complete the for loop's condition will look to see if any numbers remain in the list (which they don 't since we looked at each of them) and since it has seen all the numbers it will exit the loop.