Hey, guys! Newbie here. =) I'm trying to return an image that contains n^2 full size copies of my original image tiled, that makes an n-by-n square. I've been working on this for the past couple days and I am stuck. It's giving me an "image index out of range" error and I'm not even sure my code will tile anything. Help?

(Oh, and if my code doesn't show up tabbed in the correct spots, my orginal code has appropriate indentation. That I'm sure of.)

import Image

def tile(img):
     w,h=img.size
     x=Image.new("RGB", (w*2, h*2))
     m=0
     n=0
    for r in range (n^2):
          if r==0:
               m==0
         if r==1:
               m=w
        for i in range(w):
            if r==0:
                n==0
            if r==0:
                n==h
            for j in range (h):
                p=img.getpixel((i,j))
                x.putpixel((m, n), p)
            n=n+1
            m=m+1
    return x
def main():
    filename=raw_input ("Gimme a picture.")
    n=raw_input ("How many times would you like it tiled?")
    img=Image.open(filename)
    tiled=tile(img)
    tiled.show()
main()

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Welcome to the forums.

EDIT: OP Updated post with Code tags

Also, when asking about a specific error you get, it would help if we could see the entire traceback (which helps to identify exactly what line the error occured on). Seeing as you have an indexing error, we can narrow down where the error occurred, however it's hard to pin-point exactly what the problem is.

Can you please repost with the entirety of the traceback that you get?

EDIT 2: Also note that in Python ^ is the bit-wise XOR operator. To use "power of" 2 use **

This is what I'm getting:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python26\Com. Sci Homework\Tiles (29.7).py", line 32, in <module>
main()
File "C:\Python26\Com. Sci Homework\Tiles (29.7).py", line 30, in main
tiled=tile(img)
File "C:\Python26\Com. Sci Homework\Tiles (29.7).py", line 22, in tile