Hi!
I am an engineering student.I was exploring the conio.h file in c++ when i encountered inp(),outp() functions. I understood the basics about them but i am still not able to create a meaningful program with it.Somebody please help me !

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

If you are using a 32-bit compiler on either MS-Windows or *nix then forget those two functions because they are not implemented by any 32-bit/64-bit compiler. The operating system will not permit direct access to hardware or computer ports. You have to use normal operating system api functions. Those two functions were written for 16-bit MS-DOS which did permit programs direct access to hardware.

Hi. Ancient Dragon, Thanks a lot for your valuable advice.I am using turbo c++ compiler version 3.0 which according to my knowledge is a 16-bit compiler(Tell me if I am wrong).
And if I am write please write a simple code for me.

in ur turbo c== compiler , u can navigate to help (right mouse click) and then search for inp() and outp() .
There u will not only get a decent explanation but also an example with it.
I guess that would help u out.

in ur turbo c== compiler , u can navigate to help (right mouse click) and then search for inp() and outp() .
There u will not only get a decent explanation but also an example with it.
I guess that would help u out.

Thanks Rahul. But as I mentioned earlier i have understood the basics of it. what i meant by it was that i have read its explanation in the tc help and viewed the example. But things are still not clear. thats y i m disturbing the most genious minds on earth like u and every1 else on daniweb.

Well in that case , i would need to know what exactly ur trying to achieve ?

As far as i can see is that , this is a mere part of ur project or wat ever . it would be better if u could give a panaromic view on wat r u trying to do ., then it will be easier for all of us here to help u out.