Hello everyone:

I am a C++ newbie. I aim to use C++ in my work on coupled fluid flow-chemical reaction problems. I would very much appreciate some help to get me on the right track! I apologize in advance for what is probably a very simple question.

My goal is to come up with C++ code for solving a finite difference problem. To do this, I need to (1) construct a 2-D grid and (2) link a struct of data (fluid properties) to the grid. At some point, as I become more experienced, I'd like to learn how to use pointers and iterators, etc, but for now I would like to keep things as simple as possible.

Using some examples, I have come up with a way of constructing a grid that mostly makes sense. But I cannot figure out how to link the grid with a struct of fluid properties. Sorry--I'm certain this is a simple thing to do. Once I do have this figured out, I have questions about the grid construction. The main question about the grid for now is I don't understand why it is a good idea to use a template. I only used one because all the examples I've seen use one.

Here is my grid. Please keep in mind that I am a complete newbie! Thanks:

template <typename T>	
class Grid2D
{
public:
Grid() : xsize_(0), ysize_(0), grid_(0) { }	
Grid(double xsize, double ysize) : xsize_(xsize), ysize_(ysize), grid_(new T[ xsize_ * ysize_ ]) { }

~Grid() { delete[ ] grid_; }	
Create(double xsize, double ysize) 
{
xsize_ = xsize; 
ysize_ = ysize;
grid_ = new T[ xsize_ * ysize_ ];	
}
Resize(double xsize, double ysize) 
{
xsize_ = xsize; 
ysize_ = ysize; 
delete[ ] grid_;	
}
Delete()	
{
xsize_ = 0;
ysize_ = 0;
delete[ ] grid_;
grid_ = 0;
}
double xsize() const { return xsize_; }	
double ysize() const { return ysize_; }	
T& operator(double x, double y) { return grid_[ y*xsize_ + x ]; }	
const T& operator(double x, double y) const { return grid_[ y*xsize_ + x ]; }	
private: 
double xsize_, ysize_;
T* grid_;
}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hi,