Hello, I'm fairly new to programming, and am working on a project for a programming class. I've run into a problem, and need some help...
I'm writing a hangman game and I'm having trouble getting the guessed letter to replace the correct hidden letter. Say the word is DICTIONARY, if the guess is "A", I can't get ********** to become *******A**... I tried test=word , I get a string index out of range error....any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks =)

oh...for graphical representation, i'm using a graphics library that was written by the writers of the textbook that my class is using, but I left out the code for that to reduce clutter...

from random import *

def wordsSetup():

wordBank = "DICTIONARY","YAHWEH","HANG","MUSIC","ORCHESTRA","GREEN","HYPERBOLE","DESTRUCTION","PYTHON","FRUSTRATION","EXTRA"
    x=randint(0,9)
    print x
    for i in range(10):
        if i == x:
            word=wordBank[i]
    return word

def main():
    word=wordsSetup()
    for i in range(len(word)):
        test="*"*(i+1)
    print word #test purposes
    guess1=raw_input("Enter Guess in Caps ")
    print guess1    
        print word[i]   
        if guess1==word[i]:
            test[i]=word[i] 
            print test
    return 0
main ()

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

For a start, put wordBank in a list

make

#
#
test="*"*(i+1)

into this test = "*"*(len(word)) In your example you are doing the assignment over and over. The for i in range(len(word)): is a loop, so you loop through the assignment over and over for no reason.

Member Avatar for masterofpuppets

hi,
here are some small modifications to your program:

from random import *

def wordsSetup():

wordBank = "DICTIONARY", "YAHWEH", "HANG", "MUSIC", "ORCHESTRA", "GREEN", "HYPERBOLE", "DESTRUCTION", "PYTHON", "FRUSTRATION", "EXTRA"
    x = randint( 0, 10 )

return wordBank[ x ]

def main(): 
    word = wordsSetup()
    test = ""
    guessed = ""
    for i in word:
        test += "*"
    print word #test purposes