Hi guys, I am relatively new to Python. I am trying to code a program in Python and part of it involves checking that each input only have the characters 1 to 9 occuring only once.

My code are as follow:

for i in range(1,3):
     num = str(raw_input("Enter row " + str(i-1) + ": "))

Output will be as follows with input added to the raw input statement:

Enter row 0: 112233445
Enter row 1: 112233445

Now I want the code to display two respective error message after both inputs because both inputs have the characters 1 to 9 occuring more than once. Something with an output like:

row 0 is invalid
row 1 is invalid

Problem is, I used a second for loop below the first to display only the error messages. The second for loop is not able to detect the input in row 0 but rather reads only row 1.
Is there a way to bring all the input recieved in the first for loop (both row 0 and row 1), and evaluate them both in a second loop, hence, producing my desired output above?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Yes you can store several lines of input in a list before starting to work on them

numlist = list()
for i in range(1,3):
     numlist.append(str(raw_input("Enter row " + str(i-1) + ": ")))
# then check the content of numlist

Note that in the case of 3 numbers, it could be easier to read them once on
a single line, separated by spaces or commas.

It is customary to give the error message right after the input, not to take bunch of lines and then tell which lines are not valid if the program is used interactively, not reading from file input.

One of handiest ways of dealing input from user is having own function, which returns only after correct input is given and then returns the correct line as result.

Are you using this as condition to see that there is not repeated numbers?

len(num)==len(set(num)) and all(c.isdigit() for c in num)

Do you realize that your loop leaves only last input in num, as you do not add lines in list?