I have very little experience that’s why I need some help to get started I have been given a task to write a perl script in Linux and I don’t know from where to begin. Can anyone help me out with this please.

1. Move files from Windows 98 machine to this linux machine folders and sub-folders.
(I mean \\machine\c:\list\*.* to /var/www/list/) (\\machine\c:\lot_repos\*.* to /var/www/lot_repos/) & a long list is there.

2. Move the above files at a given hour of the day.

3. CHMOD this files to 644.

4. Generate a list of reports of those moved files.

As a newbie I swear that I don’t know about this from where to begin writing this script. Please some one help & save me.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Is This a homework project, or something for work, or something for yourself? This makes a difference in the approach that you will have to take in order to make some of the options work a specific way.

Hello,
I have already setup samba and both windows and linux are able to communicate.

This is NO homework project or something for myself? This is real work which I am facing in the office. They want this to be done immediately and i being a new to this is unable to do. Kindly rescue me from this as the main person who was handling all this has been fired and now i am on the fire?

Kindly some one help me. Please
Thanking you in advance.

The reason I said this, is because it's very possible to use what's called "CRON" to have the script run at certain times and/or certain dates. On your Unix Machine, Do A man on cron: man cron
It will give you a whole lot of information about setting up any script or program to run at a certain date and time.... I can help you with all the other things.... chmoding, and moving the files (I think....I'm not sure how you reference a samba partition, is just mounted in a folder?)....

Hello,
Thanks for your positive response to me. Today I have tried the cron (scheduled) in my system.
We have mounted samba partition in a folder.