Hello.

I am still a beginner in C# and FileWriting is my new learning step.

I created a project. Among other complicated things It needs to do the following:

1. Open EXE file
2. Click a button
3. Write&Save EXE information to a TXT file

Explanation:

There is a program that has an option to extract some information from it. I connected with that program and everything is fine.
Now, I need to make it able when I click EXPORT button to get a TXT file with information from the EXE file provided (I can load any EXE in Main program).

I need to information from EXE and save it to TXT. I already coded everything needed. I just need the code on how to save the contents of that particular section (I got that covered, there are multi sections to be extracted).
Is there some simple code snippet to do this? I already have a directive with all the code needed except code to write information from EXE to a TXT file.

REMEMBER:

I press a button, save a TXT file with data that is in memory waiting to be written.

Because when I press that button, all that information is in the buffer, just need to -> File.txt

Thanks for any help and best regards!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

To write to a text file, use the System.IO.StreamWriter class. Example usage below:

String fileName = @"C:\Temp\myfile.txt";
    System.IO.StreamWriter writer = new System.IO.StreamWriter(fileName);

writer.WriteLine("Writing a line to the text file");
    writer.Close(); // closing the file
    writer.Dispose(); // cleaning up resources

To write to a text file, use the System.IO.StreamWriter class. Example usage below:

String fileName = @"C:\Temp\myfile.txt";
    System.IO.StreamWriter writer = new System.IO.StreamWriter(fileName);

writer.WriteLine("Writing a line to the text file");
    writer.Close(); // closing the file
    writer.Dispose(); // cleaning up resources

Thank you! Folks on other forums act like they knew everything the day they were bored so they give smartass answers.