Backstory:
I took up learning C/C++ a couple months ago when I was in a game hacking forum. Since then I have changed my interests and no longer desire to make exploits for games for personal reasons.

At the moment I am studying
Programming Windows 5th Edition by: Charles Petzold

It is a very good book, I am almost 700 Pages In and I understand it completely.

What concerns me is that it was made I estimate around 11 Years ago.

Q1: Should I continue studying this even though it could be a bit outdated?

I am also currently using Visual Studio 2010 Beta2 and I see that there are any different ways to make an application ie. MFC - WFA
Which I have no idea how to use ( WFA ) but I've seen similar apps uses from a friend who uses VB.

Q2: What is the best most up to date method to code in C\C++ so that I don't end up left behind on anything ( and why ).

My current study is of
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Programming:Windows_Programming
Which I found recommended and will look into to see if it will answer some of my questions since my range in computer knowledge itself is very short.

Q3: The most I have made that even resembles any kind of use is a simple console app that converts files into a C Byte Array. Why am I not able to make anything useful will my knowledge of C\C++.
Example app I made for a friend to send text to a minimized notepad

#include <Windows.h>
    #include <iostream>
    #include <conio.h>

using namespace std;

#define ClearScreen() system( "CLS" )

class _Notepad
    {
    public:
    _Notepad()
    {
    ZeroMemory( &Buffer, sizeof( Buffer ) );
    pt.x = 1;
    pt.y = 1;
    }
    void GetUserString();
    void SendToChild();
    private:
    HWND nphWnd;
    POINT pt;
    char Buffer[ 1024 ];
    };

void _Notepad::GetUserString()
    {
    while( 1 )
    {
    ClearScreen();

printf( "Enter the string to put into notepad\n: " );
    cin.getline( Buffer, sizeof( Buffer ) );

if ( !( nphWnd = FindWindow( "Notepad", NULL ) ) )
    {