I have been having nothing but trouble trying to get C# to read excel. I haven't even gotten to the writing part, but I imagine it's going to be a challenge, too. FYI, I'm pretty new at this, and don't have a ton of experience, so I'm sure I'm missing something that's obvious to someone who's been around a bit.

Basically, what I'm trying to do is write a simple program that will read information from 2 different workbooks, reading each of 4 columns from one book into a different list<string>, and reading the 2 columns from the other book into a dictionary<string, string>. Then I plan to spit all that information back out again, but it's going to be seperated into multiple sheets in 3 different books in a different order so that it fits everyones needs. Currently, the company I work for uses spreadsheets for just about everything, and when you're ordering a series of 1500 new phone numbers, and it's all on one spreadsheet, but needs to be seperated out as described above to go to different vendors, it can take all freakin day to do one. I have been using a Marcro recorder to do it since my boss assigned it to me, but that doesn't make me happy, and will still take 2 hours to do. Hence I'm trying to write this program.

Below is a code example for what I have so far for part of a read method.

do
            {
                try
                {
                    excelApp.ActiveCell.Text.ToString();
                    string Temp = excelApp.ActiveCell.Text.ToString();
                    LATA.Add(Temp);
                    excelApp.ActiveCell.FindNext(Temp);
                    rowIndex++;
                }

catch (Exception e)
                {
                    MessageBox.Show("Exception " + e.Message + " Stack Trace: " + e.StackTrace);
                }

}
            while (excelApp.Cells[rowIndex, colIndex] != null);