Hi

New to this forum. Looking for advice. I'm a doctor working in a hospital and know little if anything about programming. Out of necessity I learned just what I had to to write a VB program for some specialized monthly notes that are otherwise very time consuming to write.

Because I'm self-taught and none of this is intuitive to me, it took me hundreds of hours to write this software. It comprises about 80 plus pages of code.

My hospital wants to purchase it from me. I have absolutely no idea of what to charge. I will need a lawyer (I guess), but even that prospect is offputting as I fear that I'll end up paying a lot for legal services and end up without any profit.

(My software is very specialized and customized for this particular type of progress note that doctors write here monthly and there is nothing like it on the market to which I can compare. That said, it is hardly sophisticated software, but very customized.

Any ideas or suggestions as how to proceed in terms of coming up with an asking price?

Thanks
Debbie McKinney

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well that depends upon what you want to do... and how the application works...

Okay, lets see if I can simplify my thoughts....

Biggest initial payday for you is to sell them the code base and wash your hands of it an any further development for X number of years. This is a one shot deal/payday. Also, find a lawer that will do this as a flat rate or percentage of sale price (do not find an ambulance chaser as they will be looking for too high of a percentage...Look for business lawer and I would also suggest that you interview him/her/them as if you were hiring an employee. An employee that will look out for your best interests. Also, you don't have to like this employee but you do have to trust them).