My first post ever anywhere! :)

As a novice I may be asking a stupid question here. Although arraysize exists, postcode array doesn't when I try to work with it in the addToArray method (and yes I know there are some other issues but I'll sort those later):

namespace Postcodes
{
    public partial class _Default : System.Web.UI.Page
    {
        string[] PostcodeArray = new string[] { "  " };
        int ArraySize = 0;

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)

{
            if (!IsPostBack)                
            ltrListofCodes.Text = "Codes you enter will appear here";
        }

protected void btnAddCode_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {            
            string postCodeRegEx =
@"(^((([A-PR-UWYZ])([0-9][0-9A-HJKS-UW]?))|(([A-PR-UWYZ][A-HK-Y])([0-9][0-9ABEHMNPRV-Y]?))\s{0,2}(([0-9])([ABD-HJLNP-UW-Z])([ABD-HJLNP-UW-Z])))|(((GI)(R))\s{0,2}((0)(A)(A)))$)|(^
*$)";
            //Validate the postcode and if its good then add it to the optimisation problem
            if (System.Text.RegularExpressions.Regex.IsMatch(txtPostcode.Text, postCodeRegEx) ==
            false)                          
                ltrListofCodes.Text = "Bad postcode:" + "  " + txtPostcode.Text;
            else
                addToArray(txtPostcode.Text); 
        }

protected void addToArray(string nextPostcode)
        {
           // Build the string array of valid postcodes
            PostcodeArray(ArraySize) = nextPostcode;
            ArraySize++;
            ;
        }

protected void btnOptimise_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            Response.Redirect("Results.aspx");
        }

}
}

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

That's not how you work work with an array. Use square brackets instead of parentheses. However, for this particular exercise, the array simply is not going to suit your needs. List<T> of the System.Collections.Generic namespace would be more appropriate. An example usage is below.