Hi
I am engineering student, currently working in image processing.
I have big issue in understanding few basic concepts in programming. To be frank I am beginner, so my question will look silly, so please tolerate with me and if anyone can help me it would be much use full for me.

I started learning image Process using Matlab. it very easy using the Matlab function for ie : it need only one single line to open image. But my problem is I want to create the same algorithm in C or C++.

But if I want to create the same algorithm for mobile application I need to convert in to c or c++.But in c/c++ it will take 10 to 15 line for a single image open process.

So I am confused here can we use open CV and create the same mobile application? Or what is the use of open CV. And even I saw there are many different libraries for image processing, so I am confused in which way to go , what is the difference in all this libraries available out there and how to choose the right way for my need.

The below site give few sample http://www.xdp.it/cximage.htm

So please let me know, what is the difference between writing a program in C/C++, or using Open CV in C/C++ . Can we use both codes for creating application?

Thank You
kumar

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for r.stiltskin

The libraries provide functions that allow you to read and write image files and get easy access to the pixel data in a format that makes it easier for your programs to manipulate it. It let's you write code to analyze images, modify images, or produce your own images without worrying about how the data is formatted, compressed, etc., for storage in a file.