Hey, I'm a student with rudimentry knoledge of VB6 and I've a college project where I have to develop a blackjack game. Unfortuanately I've a problem with the method I call the cards I was wondering if any of you would be able to shed some light on the problem.

Option Explicit

Private Sub Command1_Click()

Dim card(5) As Integer
Dim x As Integer
Dim y As Integer
Dim d As Integer
Dim discard(5) As Integer

x = 0
y = 0
d = x - 1

Randomize

card(x) = Int((52 * Rnd) + 1)
Debug.Assert (Val(card(x)))

Do While (y < 5)
Call deal
If discard(x) = card(x) Then
Call deal
End If
y = y + 1
Loop

End Sub

Private Function deal(ByVal card As Integer, x As Integer, y As Integer)

For x = 0 To 4 Step 1
Select Case card(x)
Case Is = 1
Picture1(x).Picture = LoadPicture("F:\Cards\HA.jpg")

Case Is = 2
Picture1(x).Picture = LoadPicture("F:\Cards\H2.jpg")

'same every other card untill 52

End Select
Next y
End Function

Any help will be more than welcome but please keep it somewhat simple so I can understand lol.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hey, I'm a student with rudimentry knoledge of VB6 and I've a college project where I have to develop a blackjack game. Unfortuanately I've a problem with the method I call the cards I was wondering if any of you would be able to shed some light on the problem.

You didn't explain the problem. You need to give us details. Don't make us try to understand the code you wrote that you can easily describe, without an explanation of what the trouble is.

Details, please.

see I don't quite know what's wrong. whenever i hit the comand button, I get an error saying "argument not optional" and I don;t know what that means, I'm thinking that there must be multiple problems that I cannot see.

see I don't quite know what's wrong. whenever i hit the comand button, I get an error saying "argument not optional" and I don;t know what that means, I'm thinking that there must be multiple problems that I cannot see.