Hey guys,

I need a little help this is what I currently have:

Object[][] teamList = new Object[10][];
Label[] tlKnights = new Label[25];
Label[] tlSkullitz = new Label[25];

teamList[0] = tlKnights;
teamList[1] = tlSkullitz;

tl -- stands for Team Label, Im working on better naming conventions as well.

I'm new to programming and I'm making a program that analyzes my draft picks in an upcoming fantasy sports draft. What I'd like to do is be able to pass a value into my method so that it fills the correct label on my form with the drafted player. So I've made an array of label Arrays and I'd like to be able to choose the label like this:

teamList[0][0].text

I'd like it to select the first label from the first list of label arrays so I can set the Name in the labels text value. I can't find any information on Jagged arrays that address my situation. I know I could just make massive IF statements and multiple methods to get around this issue but I'm trying to become a more robust programmer and cut down on my code. If you could help, that be great.

In the end there will be 10 teams but I was just testing with 2 to start.

Thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hey guys,
snipped
So I've made an array of label Arrays and I'd like to be able to choose the label like this:

teamList[0][0].text

I'd like it to select the first label from the first list of label arrays so I can set the Name in the labels text value.
snipped

I'm assuming all these labels are not set up to display on your form and you want to transfer the label data to a label that is displayed.
I haven't tested it but this should work:

MyLbl.Text = ((Label[]) teamList[0])[0].Text;

Splitting it out a bit:

Label[] jnk = (Label[]) teamList[0];//Cast the object as a Label array
MyLbl.Text = jnk[0].Text;// Transfer the text to an object that is displayed

Personally, I like the second version better. It's easier for me to read and I wrote it to begin with.