Hey Guys - i am really new to Java and am having some serious problems trying to figure out how to use the painting stuff. My problem i am trying to get to work is that i need to create a 'circle' by using lines from X number of points. This should look something like this:

http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/1830/circlek.gif

My question is how on EARTH do i get this to happen? I am issues just drawing my own LINE, let alone using trig to calculate where the 12 points need to be.

So maybe help me start small? Help me with a very basic way to draw multiple lines with changing coordinates? Something like that? Any helps would be fantastic... as right now, i am completely clueless! Thanks for you help!

T

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Here's a very simple line example

import java.awt.Color;
import java.awt.EventQueue;
import java.awt.Graphics;
import javax.swing.JFrame;
import javax.swing.JPanel;

public class LinePaintDemo extends JPanel{

@Override
    protected void paintComponent(Graphics g) {
        super.paintComponent(g);
        g.setColor(Color.BLUE);

int width = getWidth();
        int height = getHeight();
        int midX = width/2;
        int midY = height/2;
        for (int x=0; x<=midX; x+=3){
            g.drawLine(x, 0, midX, midY);
        }
        for (int x=midX; x<=width; x+=3){
            g.drawLine(x, height, midX, midY);
        }
    }

public static void main(String[] args) {
        EventQueue.invokeLater(new Runnable() {
            public void run() {
                JFrame frame = new JFrame();
                frame.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
                frame.add(new LinePaintDemo());
                frame.setSize(300,300);
                frame.setVisible(true);
            }
        });
    }
}

For your circle, if you vary the angle in a loop, the trig for the line endpoints is trivial.