I am brand new at Visual Basic 2008 (and programming in general) and am taking an online IT course. I do not understand Visual Basic and do not know how to determine what code to write in a given situation. How do you determine what code to write?

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Go to college and take a class, or read a book, or take "an online IT course"... lol.

First, familiarize yourself a bit more with Visual Basic itself: what statements exist? What do they each do, individually? You will find that they can be grouped together into various categories: some statements have to do with declaring variables; some manipulate data (such as assigning a value to a variable); some modify the flow of execution (e.g. instead of proceeding straight from top to bottom, doing each statement just once, you can make portions of the program execute repeatedly (or "loop") until some set of conditions is met, or can cause the program "branch" -- that is, to take a different "path" through its code -- depending on some set of conditions, etc.); some are used primarily for their "side effects," such as printing, displaying, etc. There may be other categories; I am writing "off the top of my head."

It is also important to write and punctuate all statements correctly: the computer will do what you TELL it, NOT what you MEANT TO tell it! :-)

Next, think about the program you want to create. What do you want it to do, EXACTLY? Think it through in as much detail as you can, including internal operations (e.g. math), side effects (printing, displaying), and flow of control (repeats and branches). Think in big chunks first, then break those down into smaller chunks, and those into even smaller chunks. Keep at it and eventually you will find it possible to express each chunk in a statement (or a few statements) of actual Visual Basic.