Hi,
I'm a newbie............ Sorry, if I violate any norms.

Is it possible to copy any audio file or image file using C language? I think it is possible. If anyone knows it please guide me.
If you know the code, that 'll be helpful.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

you can copy any file, whatever the type or extension.

just open the source file as a binary file and use a while loop to copy each byte one at a time to the destination, until the EOF charater is found.

see fopen(), fgetc(), fputc(), and feof() in the standard C library <stdio.h>. that's all the functions you'll need, though you'll probably want to include error checking with ferror().

just open the source file as a binary file and use a while loop to copy each byte one at a time to the destination, until the EOF charater is found.

copying byte by bye using loop...uh...sounds like a complected process...:|

copying byte by bye using loop...uh...sounds like a complected process...:|

uh... not so much :)

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
   FILE *fp_source, *fp_dest;
   char oneByte;

/* WARNING:  this does ZERO error checking!! */

fp_source = fopen(argv[1], "rb"));
   fp_dest   = fopen(argv[2], "wb"));

while(!feof(fp_source)) {
      oneByte = fgetc(fp_source);
      fputc(oneByte, fp_dest);
   }

fclose(fp_source);
   fclose(fp_dest);

return 0;
}

uh... not so much :)

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
   FILE *fp_source, *fp_dest;
   char oneByte;

/* WARNING:  this does ZERO error checking!! */

fp_source = fopen(argv[1], "rb"));
   fp_dest   = fopen(argv[2], "wb"));

while(!feof(fp_source)) {
      oneByte = fgetc(fp_source);
      fputc(oneByte, fp_dest);
   }

fclose(fp_source);
   fclose(fp_dest);

return 0;
}