Hi All,
I am new to C language and am suppose to write a program that gives me an even integer with cube greater than 40000 and also is divisible by 7.
This is what i have...

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <math.h>
int main(){
float a,b,c,d,e;
a=pow(40000,1/3);
while(pow(40000,1/3)<=a){
	a=b;

if(b % 2 == 0)
b=c;
if(b % 7 == 0)
c=d;
printf("%f\n",b);
else
{
a=a++;
}
}
}

I dont know what i am doing.
Please help. I dont want a program i just want to know what am i doing wrong and what loops and logics can be used to write it??

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Why would you need a loop.

Find the cube root of 40,000 pow(40000, 1.0/3.0) call it R
Find the first integer > R, I = (int)R + 1
Find the first integer >= I that is a multiple of 7, I += I % 7

BTW you have written pow(40000, 1/3) , 1/3 is integer arithmetic and equals 0 anything raised to the power 0 is 1 (except may be 0) so pow(40000, 1/3) = 1. That is certainly causing your loop logic to be wrong.

But what if i have to start from 1 and keep going until a number is found?
Then i have to use a loop??
and secondly is this correct for the even number test
if(4 % 2 == o)
{
true
}

Since the number must be both even and a multiple of 7,
it must therefore be a multiple of 14,

I = (I+13)/14; /* integer math rounds down */
  I = I * 14;

I put the statements on separate lines, for convenience in the debugger.

Sorry I missed the even bit, still no loop required. Even means divisible by 2 divisible by 2 and divisible by 7 means divisible by (2 * 7) = 14

Replace the step

Find the first integer >= I that is a multiple of 7, I += I % 7

with

Find the first integer >= I that is a multiple of 14, I += I % 14

I think the equation I += I % 14 is wrong. For example if I == 15, the statement will add 1, which does not make it a multiple of 14.

commented: Yes good point +1

I'd suggest using a for loop, and incrementing the number to be tested by 14, with each loop.