Pretty new to Python, but I have some background in C and VB. Just joined this site because I couldn't find anywhere else to get Python help!

I'm working with VPython in the IDLE environment, and I'm having a problem changing a variable using a toggle switch and a function. Here's the necessary parts:

mode = 0
def switchMode():
    if t1.value:
        mode = 1
    else:
        mode = 0

tMoGen = toggle(pos=(40,-30),width=10,height=10,text0='Off',text1='On',action=lambda: switchMode())

while True:
    rate(5)
    c.interact()
    print mode

Mode just stays at 0, no matter how many times I flip the switch.
I think I may need to return the value out of the function, but I'm not sure how to do that yet.

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by Danthier

You're right, you need return.

Python has local and global scopes, functions have their own local scope, so a local variable is changed inside of the function, it doesn't affect a variable outside the function's scope.

Add return mode to switchMode(),
and then whenever you call switchMode,
do this: mode = switchMode()

The mode declared is outside the function, which makes it a GLOBAL variable.

The mode within the function is a LOCAL variable, which doesn't affect the mode that's declared outside of the function

A simple fix would be to declare that the mode inside the function is a global variable.

mode = 0
def switchMode():
    global mode # This tells python that all reference to "mode" is global within the current function.
    if t1.value:
        mode = 1
    else:
        mode = 0

The wording is probably really weird, so I'm going to try to explain via example:

var1 = 88
print var1 # 88 would be print in console
function() # Executes function(), which will error out, of course

def function():
    print var1 # This would print 88, as python didn't find a local variable