I am a student, I have a program that I have been working on for about a month now. I have to hand it in on Wednesday and everything works fine but I just want to tidy up the interface.

I have a JTable which I use to display records after the user has sorted them or to display records that match a criteria as input by the user when searching but what I dont like about the JTable is that the user can click into the cells and delete the text and write something else. Although I suppose it does'nt matter because the user is not actually changing the records, the records are only put into a two dimensional array in order to display them in the JTable, the records are actually stored in a linked list until the program is closed and then saved to file, but all the same I would like to remove the ability to click into the cells if possible.

I have tried to prevent editing the cells by using

table.setColumnSelectionAllowed(false);
table.setRowSelectionAllowed(false);
table.cellSelectionEnabled(false);

But they don't have the effect of preventing cell editing.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You need to override the isCellEditable(int,int) method in your table model to return false

public boolean isCellEditable(int row, int column) {
        return false;
    }

I have seen that before and tried it and it did not work so I abandonded it. I have just realised that I was putting the code in the wrong place. I just plonked it in after my table

table = new JTable(row, column);

public boolean isCellEditable(int row, int column){
     return false;
}

It never occured to me that it needed to be

table = new JTable(row, column){
   public boolean isCellEditable(int row, int column){
        return false;
   }
};

It now works fine - thank you

DefaultTableModel model = new DefaultTableModel(data,col);
table = new JTable(model){
public boolean isCellEditable(int rowIndex, int colIndex) {
return false; //Disallow the editing of any cell
}
};