I'm a Electrical engineer working in an automation company, recently i'm require to do a PC base HMI. So i decide to use VB to do it(I'm a newbie in VB, just learn/use VB6 in Uni). So far, Im able to read/write to the PLC through serial port. There problem now is, to do HMI, it has many screen/page(or Form) like page to display Alarm message, to display result, to login..etc and a Header/footer which will share/display in all page.When button in the footer is pressed, page will display.

I have no idea how to start with,should i do each page in seperate form and hide/shows them, or Do all in a single form?
Actually i like to do all in single form, so the header and footer will be there,what control should i use, any suggestion to me?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If i do in a single Form, got any tools to group those control, so it wont so messy? i think it will have 8 to 9 pages/screen@@i tries to use tools-->Panel then call the form to show within the panel, but the visual effect is bad. Any other idea?

if i do each screen in a individual form, then how should i put the header/footer so every screen can see/press them? Does it have a auto ways, or i need to manually put all the button label on it? I try to use "Me.Controls.Add(Form1.Panel1)" when form2 load,where panel1 is the header in form1, Me is form2.So, panel1 header shows on form2.

Any advise? Is there any tactic so the end-user wont feel the form is changing?

if i understand that right, what you could do is using a MDI form and some children forms...

Hope i helped :)

Thanks for reply.
Ya, I try something like that

Dim f As New Form2()
f.TopLevel = False
Me.Panel2.Controls.Add(f)
f.Show()

So,Form2 will show within the Panel.
But, the problem is:1) The Form2 will show with the Title Bar
2)The Form2 can be Drag to move around
I dont want this neither.