hi,
i am developing a desktop application in VS 2008 standard edition,
i have a form with a text box with a button and a grid view. when i type a part of the file name in the text box and then click on the button all the files which has that text name should be displayed with the location and the link to that file. when i click the link the file should be opened. how can i do this , please help me, i am new to C#.NET and not familiar with this language specially for these things.

can this be done by the Directory searcher, if can how??

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

well... to find all the files you can use Directory class and GetFiles(), GetDirectories() method... below I've pasted the code snippet showing how it can be used... it seems to work but I did that in the hurry so you can find there some mistakes...
btw I added the comboBox to give the method the start point and paste some information to richtextbox:

// here I add all logical drive to combobox
        private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            string[] logicalDrives = Directory.GetLogicalDrives();
            for (int i = 0; i < logicalDrives.Length; i++)
            { 
                cbDirectorySearcher.Items.Add(logicalDrives[i]);
            }
        }
       // recursive function
        private void checkFiles(string pattern, string path)
        {
            string[] directories = Directory.GetDirectories(path);
            string[] files = Directory.GetFiles(path);
            for (int i = 0; i < files.Length; i++)
            {
                if (files[i].Contains(pattern))
                    rtbDirectories.Text += files[i].Substring(files[i].LastIndexOf('\\') + 1) + "\t" + files[i] + "\n";
            }
            for (int i = 0; i < directories.Length; i++)
            {
                checkFiles(pattern, directories[i]);
            }
        }
        // main method - in here I call recursive function