hey guys im new to recursion to recursion..pls look at the function call ...question is how do i call in two functions at the same time..and which one should i return
thank you.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
bool canMakeChange(int total, int nums[], int length){
if(total==0)
    return true;

else
	 canMakeChange(total,nums,length-1);
 return canMakeChange(total-nums[length-1],nums,length-1);

}
int main() 
{
	const int TOTAL = 20;
	int coins[4]={10,5,5,10};
	if (canMakeChange(TOTAL, coins, 5))
		cout<<"true"<<endl;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

hey guys im new to recursion to recursion..pls look at the function call ...question is how do i call in two functions at the same time..and which one should i return
thank you.

This code cannot return false. You need at least one line that says "return true" and one line that says "return false".

As far as calling two functions at the same time, you don't. Everything happens in order. You call one function, then you call another function. Not sure what you mean by that phrase.

Line 8 causes infinite recursion since total doesn't change. Line 9 will never be executed.

What is the logic of this function? What constitutes being able to "make change"? If the coins add up to the total? You'll need to elaborate on what this function does.

thanks for the reply..the logic is to find if it is possible to get correct change(total) by given coins(nums)....for example say u want 50 cent...(total) and nums are 10,10,10,20...thus bool would return true....there are two ways to check and see if the change(total could be made)..first is by taking out the last element from the array and adding the rest...second is taking of the last element and subtract that from the total. I been working on this all night but still couldnt figure it...any help be great...and another quick question since line 8 is infinit loop is it possible to run line 9 first and then line 8 would get the total from line 9???