Hi everyone,

I'm a relative beginner to writing UNIX scripts. In the past, I've been able to hack together simple scripts. Now I need a script which a little more complex than I'm used to, and I really need help. I'm up against a tight deadline and am growing desperate, as I can't seem to find a solution either on the web nor in my UNIX programming book.

Here's the problem: I'm on a SunOS system. On the machine, I have a large number of files scattered across a vast directory structure. I have to copy all those target files into my home directory. Luckily, the directory structure is well-organized. It looks like this:

/root/projects/*ARCHIVE*/date/*SUBARCHIVE*/output/*SUBSUBARCHIVE*/The_Files_I_Need

The directories in lowercase have constant names - I don't have to worry about them ever changing. But the directories I've named with *ALLCAPS* do change names. Think of them as wild cards.

Put another way: If I wanted to exhaustively list every directory, the top tier would looks like this:

/root/projects/PROJECT01/
/root/projects/PROJECT02/
/root/projects/PROJECT03/
/root/projects/PROJECT04/
/root/projects/PROJECT20/

The next tier would look like this:

/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/FEB2000/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/MAR2000/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/MAY2010/
/root/projects/PROJECT02/date/JAN1995/
/root/projects/PROJECT20/date/DEC2005/

And the next tier would look like this:

/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE0001/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE0002/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE0003/
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE1328/
/root/projects/PROJECT20/date/DEC1995/output/SAMPLE483822/

And so on. The target files I ultimately need to read are in those final directories.

/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE0001/TARGET_102932
/root/projects/PROJECT01/date/JAN2000/output/SAMPLE0001/TARGET_32323