Dear All,

I am very new to programming and really appreciate if you can help. I am using XCode as editor

My code is below:

int main (int argc, char * const argv[]) {
	char a[10][25];
	char *ptr_a;
	ptr_a = (char *)a[10][25];
	for (int index = 1; index < argc; index++) 
			 {
 std::cout << index << " " << "The value in argv[index] is : " << argv[index]<< std::
strcpy(ptr_a,argv[index]);
std::cout << index <<  " " << "the value of a at this point is : " << a << std::endl;
}
			return 0;
}

After this when i run the program i dont get any result. Basically what i am trying to achieve here is to copy argv[index] to a[10][25] and it doesnt work. I know i am making a mistake but dont know where, would guess somethings with pointers.

Your help will be appreciated.

P.S I am new to programming and not sure if i have asked the question correctly. But on the way of learning so please do let me know if you need to some more information.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

First of all argc should be initialized.

commented: wrong +1

First of all argc should be initialized.

Wrong.... The variable argc is an integer initialized by the o/s before being sent to main() that's why it's a parameter of the function. All you have to do is use it...

P.S.
You're lucky I messed up on the like-dislike.

@OP:
Try changing Line 4 to simply ptr_a = a ;

Hey Guys,

Thanks a lot for the replies. But when i change the line 4 to
ptr_a =a;

I get the error message "Error: cannot convert 'char [10][25] to 'char*' in assignment.

But i got it working without a pointer :

int main (int argc, char * const argv[]) {

char a[10][25];

for (int index = 1; index < argc; index++) 
			 {

std::cout << index << " " << "The value in argv[index] is : " << argv[index]<< std::endl;
				 strcpy(a[index],argv[index]);
				 std::cout << index <<  " " << "the value of a at this point is : " << a[index] << std::endl;

}
			return 0;

}