Hi,

I'm new to Python, and although I've quite some programming experience, I wasn't able to find an answer for this problem:

As a first project, I am trying to create a small text game. All is going well (since it's very basic), except for my inventory system.

At the start of the game/script, I declare a global variable "inventory", and make it a list:

def start():
    global inventory
    inventory = []

Next, I created a function to display the inventory:

def inventory():
    global inventory
    print
    print "You are carrying:"
    for item in inventory:
        print " - "+item
    print

But, an error occurs: "TypeError: 'list' object is not callable". When I declare the list inside the inventory() function everything works well, so I assume this has something to do with me making the variable not global somehow..?

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
Lapixx

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

inventory is function name, you are trying to overload it by global variable name in that very function!

How about making the inventory set, makes more sense to me. global inventory is unnecessary, as you are not changing things in inventory in your function.

Also you can use:

print "You are carrying:", " - ".join(inventory)

>_> That was very silly of me. Thanks though!

Dont use global statement,it`s a ugly.
A function should keep code local and not send variabels out in global space.

Pass in argument and return in out when you need it.
Do this become to difficult move over to use a class.

def start(my_list=[]):  
    inventory = my_list
    return inventory

def inventory(arg): 
    for item in arg:
        print '%s' % item 

def main():
    inv_item = start(['gold','food','hammer'])
    inventory(inv_item)    

if __name__ == "__main__":
    main()

I think that doing so would make things very complex when using multiple global variables that are being used in multiple functions.

Though I agree that classes would do the trick too.