I've been doing research on how processes communicate for the past like 4 months and I still can not answer this very simple question, how do most present day applications communicate within their own framework? Which tends to get me asking another question, do application programmers still program using C++?

note: I am aware of the game design forum! This is not intended to be a question directed at game design but at all application development. The resulting application will be more similar in nature to say Inventor.

Now to begin I guess it would be best to describe what I'm thinking and what I'm trying to accomplish. I am creating a tool chain or an 'engine' which will simulate various real time events and present these events in a visual manner. To do so I will be utilizing various techniques for application structuring such as Client/Server and RPC and the such. I would like to program the core process which will handle things such as UI, Physics, 3D Visualization, Peripheral Interfacing and so on in C++ as speed optimization in core would be ideal. As in many game type engines I would like to have a tier dedicated to the programming of a new world or in my case system. And in the end I am focusing on the Windows platform.