hey guys i'm new to c and still learning.need some help here.

i wrote this code and it isn't work properly,unable to figure out whats wrong!!but when the strget() call from the main() its working.please some help...

main()
{
	int x;

printf("enter a value	:");
	scanf("%d",&x);

switch(x)
	{
		case 1:
		pri();
	}

}
void strget()
{
	int i;
	char z[30];
	for(i=0;i<4;i++)
	{

printf("enter string:");
		gets(z);
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

What are you trying to do (to learn)? The posted snippet is quite broken, therefore, hard to guess your intention with it.
What do you think is supposed to happen and it is not occurring?

i try to learn this..this is not the original program.bt same structure and gives the same error.

when program start to looping it prints "enter string: enter string: "
thats the error..

screen clipping attached..

hey..i've figure out that whats wrong with this.it's caused due to buffer.once clean the buffer and no more errors

#include<stdio.h>
void pri(void);

main()
{
	int x;

scanf("%d",&x);

switch(x)
	{
		case 1:
		pri();
	}

}
void pri()
{

int i;
	char z[30];
	for(i=0;i<4;i++)
	{
		fflush(stdin);
		gets(z);
	}
}

thanx Aia for trying to help.but i still unable to understand whats happned .can you explain ??

what do you want the program to do ???

this is not the program which i'm building.i wrote this to present my problem.now it's solved.but unable to understand the theory part of it.(i mean how the program works correctly after write fflush(stdin); )

The problem is when you code of the sort

int i;
printf("Enter val ");
scanf("%d",&i);

and you input the value 5, you are actually pressing 2 keys 5 and the enter key. The value 5 gets assigned to i but enter key is still present in the stream. Then in the while loop

while(i<4)
    {
              printf("Enter String: ");
              gets(str);
              printf("String is %s",str);
              i++;
    }