Hello all. I'm currently studying computer science, and I need some insight concerning data structures.

i'm asked to create the necessary data structure to hold the population and saving factor of all cities.

CITY: Population: Saving factor:
Nicosia 200 0.4
Limassol 120 0.6
Larnaka 65 0.7
Paphos 30 0.75
Paralimni 15 0.8

And this is my code:

#include <iostream.h>
#include <sstream>
using namespace std;

struct Cyprus {
  string city;
  int population;
  float factor;
  } nicosia, limassol, larnaka, paphos, paralimni;

int main ()
{

nicosia.population = 200 ;
nicosia.factor = 0.4 ;
limassol.population = 120 ;
limassol.factor = 0.6 ;
larnaka.population = 65 ;
larnaka.factor = 0.7 ;
paphos.population = 30 ;
paphos.factor = 0.75;
paralimni.population = 15 ;
paralimni.factor = 0.8 ;
}

Is this correct or wrong? why?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Instead of creating an instance for each city you can just create an array of those structures. for example struct Cyprus cities[4]; How to populate the array may depend on the instructions your professor gave you. My guess is that your program should read the data from a text file, buy that may be 100% wrong.

>>is this correct or wrong? why?

what if you wanted to add more cities, say 100 more. How much code do you think you
would have to write ? Thus a good code, not only cares about its present status, it also cares about its future status as well.

Instead of creating an instance for each city you can just create an array of those structures. for example struct Cyprus cities[4]; How to populate the array may depend on the instructions your professor gave you. My guess is that your program should read the data from a text file, buy that may be 100% wrong.

No, the exercise just says to "create the necessary data structure to hold the population and saving factor of all cities."

If I brought what i wrote up there in, would it be correct or wrong? This is what I need to know.

Thanks *alot* for your answer.