Hi everyone, can somebody guide me to produce very small delays for controlling a servo motor using PWM.
I need to generate 3 different pulse widths of 1.2ms , 1.5ms and 1.8ms.
I am using Keil compiler, and 8051 microcontroller. I am a good C coder, but dont understand much embedded C.
It is very urgent, and I need the code ready by tomorrow. I tried a lot of ways, but I can never generate an extremely small delay. I have even tried changing the tick interval.

Thanks a lot for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

1.2ms , 1.5ms and 1.8ms.

That's an awfully small delay. The best I could get is a perfect 10ms delay. Sometimes about 5ms(rare). Don't know if this small delay is possible or not. You can try calling a function(read: Any custom function) to get you a delay this small. But it's just a wild guess. :)

thank you, i shall try that, but i am open to more suggestions and replies. thanks !

If however you can use POSIX, nanosleep() might do the trick.
Link

thanks for your reply. sorry but i have no clue how to use it!! i tried but to no avail!

You need to look at your hardware for such small timing intervals, not software.

Are you using a 555 timer IC chip? What timer features does your PIC chip offer?

That's where you need to look - C that uses your hardware, rather than your OS.

Agreed with Adak if your hardware cannot support an interval this small, then there's no use looking further.

i am using an 8051, not a PIC chip. i've been told that hardware delays are more complex than software delays, and cannot generate extremely small delays

I tried this code for servo. but did not work.

#include <REGX51.H>
sbit pulse = P2^0; // for give pulse to survo
void delay()//10us delay
{
	TMOD=0x02;
	TH0=-10;
	TR0=1;
	while(TF0==0);
	TR0=0;
	TF0=0;
}
void main()
{
	int i;
	while(1)  //20ms pulse width
	{
		for(i=0;i<100;i++) //1ms high
		{
			pulse=1;
			delay();
		}
		for(i=0;i<1900;i++)	//19ms low
		{
			pulse=0;
			delay();
		} 
	 }
}