Hello,

I'm not too experienced with C++ (I know C# pretty well), and I can't figure this out.
I've got two files, Form1.h and Utility.h.
Form1.h is initialized when the program starts, and when the user clicks a button, it should call some functions in Utility.h.

Now the problem I have is, I need the functions in Utility.h to send messages back to the instance of Form1 that has already been initialized, to display to the user.

Here's what I have... Form1.h:

#pragma once
#include <Utility.h>
#include "stdafx.h"

namespace PublishWizard {

public ref class Form1 : public System::Windows::Forms::Form
	{

Utility.h:

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Form1.h"

using namespace std;

bool ValidPath( string &filePath, Form1 &console )
{

and, my error:

...\Utility.h(6) : error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'Form1'

I have a public function in Form1, Write(string message) , that will show the user whatever message is sent.
So I was planning on passing the instance of Form1 to every function that I use in Utility.h and calling the Write function that way.

Does anyone know any way to fix this error, or any better suggestions?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I'm not exactly sure what is going on, but it looks like Form1 is in the PublishWizard namespace and you have not given a PublishWizard:: prefix or a "using namespace PublishWizard" when you try to reference Form1 in Utility.h

Dave

Dave,

Thanks, I was trying that before but wasn't sure exactly if that's what I needed.
When I do either of those,

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Form1.h"

using namespace std;

bool ValidPath( string &filePath, PublishWizard::Form1 &console )
{

I get the same error plus this one:

error C2653: 'PublishWizard' : is not a class or namespace name

I have no idea why I'm getting this error. Because in the main file, "Publish Wizard.cpp", it does just that with no problems:

// Publish Wizard.cpp : main project file.

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Form1.h"