Hi everyone, I am fairly new to programming, but I was wondering if there was a way to run the java program i make when it is not in the bluej compiler (i am using bluej). I would like so that i can double click an icon and my applet runs, like the applets that you can download from the java tutorials site (in a jnlp format i believe) thanks for all your help in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Is your program an Applet or an application? An Applet requires a browser or Appletviewer to execute. An application needs the java command.

In both cases you put the class files into a jar file for ease of handling. For the application to be executable without knowing which class to start with, you need to put a manifest file into the jar file that the java command can read to find the starting class.
For the Applet, you need an html file with an <APPLET tag with code= and archive= attributes.
You'll probably have to read up on how to do this in the Java Tutorial.

if it is an application and not an applet, you could:

1. create a notepad .txt file.
2. rename it to something.bat
3. right click on file and select "edit"
4. type in: java (drag applet .class file here)
5. open start, run, type in cmd
6. drag something.bat into cmd window, hit enter.

Wow! It works! (hopefully :P)

Mitch

commented: thanks this is exactly what i was looking for :) +3

click the "solved" button if this thread is solved (for you :) )

One more thing, BlueJ is NOT a compiler. Its just an IDE. The compiler is within the jdk file that you probably have downloaded from sun. To compile a .java file without blueJ is simple. First you need to set a classpath for the bin subdirectory inside your jdk directory. Instructions for the same can be found by googling "classpath" and "java".