Hey,
I'm fairly new to this PInvoke stuff. Could anyone tell me how to get whether a window is being resized with the WH_CALLWNDPROC method? A description would be great too.
Thanks a lot

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

You should override the WndProc method in your form. Then check for the message.

You really don't want to use hooks unless they are absolutely necessary.

The Windows.Forms class actually allows you to override the WndProc message pump. So all messages sent to that window can be intercepted.

The signature is protected override void WndProc(ref Message msg) You can get the message code from msg.Msg the WM_* codes can be found at pinvoke.net

After you have processed the message, please end the method with base.WndProc(ref msg)

You really don't want to use hooks unless they are absolutely necessary.

The Windows.Forms class actually allows you to override the WndProc message pump. So all messages sent to that window can be intercepted.

The signature is protected override void WndProc(ref Message msg) You can get the message code from msg.Msg the WM_* codes can be found at pinvoke.net

After you have processed the message, please end the method with base.WndProc(ref msg)

Hey,
I am trying to get a tooltip to show the size of any window when it is being resized. I already have a WndProc section for a global keyboard shortcut- could I use this for the resizing function. Also, what must I put with the DLLImport stuff, and how do I set the hook?
Thanks a lot

Ok firstly. Don't Hook, seriously...don't! :D

You don't need to use P/Invoke for this. You can do it using your current WndProc section.

Use a switch-case block and check for the WM_SIZE (0x0005) message and your keyboard short-cut.

Could you not possibly do this using the Form Resize and ResizeEnd events?

Ok firstly. Don't Hook, seriously...don't! :D

You don't need to use P/Invoke for this. You can do it using your current WndProc section.