I'm quite new to Python (and programming past pascal) so I'm looking for a relatively simple-to-understand way to do this. All help is much appreciated.

I'm looking for the program to take a variable as if it were just normal code, I'll explain via example.
I want the code to access this:

moves.movesCustom.move1

where move1 can be from 1 to 4.

I have a function to calculate what move to use, and that returns either, move1, move2, move3 or move4.

I'm looking for some way to make something like this work:

moves.movesCustom.chosenMove

Where chosenMove is a string containing either move1, move2, move3 or move4.

I know I could make 4 if statements (I read that Python can't do case statements?)

if chosenMove == move1:
moves.movesCustom.move1;
if chosenMove == move2:

but that doesn't seem very efficient. Is there a better way to do this?
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

What is moves? Module, package or object. How about movesCustom?

If you are trying just to use Pascal struct, I think that simple way to replace that it by tuple.

Like this:

import random
def move1():
    print('move1')

def move2():
    print('move2')

def move3():
    print('move3')

def move4():
    print('move4')

moves = (move1,move2, move3, move4)

for i in range(10):
    chosen_move=random.choice(moves)
    chosen_move()

""" Output:
move2
move3
move4
move4
move4
move3
move2
move4
move4
move4
"""

moves is a folder containing a few .py files (moveCustom being one of them) and __init__ which contains the import instructions. Not that confident with importing at the moment but it seems to work.
It's just for importing all the different moves and their settings, so I had "import moves" at the start of the code.
movesCustom is the .py file containing some modules, it contains the chosenMove() module, which returns either move1,move2,move3 or move4.

At the moment I'm not looking for it to be random, it's player input.