Hi all! I'm new to pixel/graphic management and fairly new to C# as well but i'm learning some AI at the same time, very basic of course.
I did some kind of "Game of life", you know that it imitates cell birth and death and whatnot.

I have it working in a listview that i update a few times in a second so i can follow the simulation. I think i'm ready for the next step and i'm thinking on making a graphical representation of it instead of letters.

I'm probably implementing a 2D array, each cell will represent an actual cell for example like 0-death, 1-changing, 2-stablished...something like that. I think i want each cell to be represented by a pixel or maybe four pixels so it's not that tiny thing.

I just learnt a little bit about Bitmaps and how to draw them first and then put them on a picture box. I have this example:

System.Drawing.Bitmap flag = new System.Drawing.Bitmap(10, 10);
            for (int x = 0; x < flag.Height; ++x)
                for (int y = 0; y < flag.Width; ++y)
                    flag.SetPixel(x, y, Color.White);
            for (int x = 0; x < flag.Height; ++x)
                flag.SetPixel(x, x, Color.Red);
            pictureBox1.Image = flag;

Since i'm going to refresh that array and thus refreshing the bitmap, thus refreshing the picturebox, i wonder if there's a fastest/better way to do this.

On the other hand i want to know what would be the best way to convert those cells in the array into some icons that i can make. Instead of using coloured pixels.

Thank you!

PS: excuse my poor english.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I checked the Bob Powel tutorial but that didn't make my question more clear.
Im looking it up in google (bitmap lockbits) but not that good information, although i'll keep looking.

Do i need the picturebox or is it a better way? What about using little icons?

Thank you.

Why not use a panel instead and draw the cells in the panels paint event.
Sample code to draw a block of dots in panel1.