Hi buddies,
I have a project that I need to be plugin based. I have never done that before and I have intermediate C++ knowledge. I have googled and found a lot of links including this one. It is helpful and I don't know if I understand well.

Here is what I want to start with, Create application that does math (i.e simple calculator). The application does formatting and printing and the plugins does the actual math. the first thing I need is for someone to correct me if I'm wrong in my thinking below:

1. I have to create Abstaract plug in interface class IPlugin with methods:
getPluginName, loadPlugin unloadPlugin and the dataProcessor. This will be implemented by each plugin.

2. create class in the host IHost that checks the plugins if are valid and loads them with methods getPluginList, loadPluginsMethods, cleanPluginOnExit. this will only be implemented by the host.

am i right?
I will start coding once I get it right. Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 30 Replies

Member Avatar for ZootAllures

Hi,

You seem to have the right idea. I have used very similar architectures to the one you referred to (here), and they do work well. I don't think you need an IHost class in the host application unless the plugins need to call back into the host.

On the other hand, if there are only a handful of functions (such as load, unload, and process), then it would be simpler to simply export the functions from the plugin(s) and call them directly from the host application.

If you're expecting the complexity and number of functions to grow to the point where simple exports become unwieldy then certainly use the abstract interfaces. The biggest advantage you get from using interface classes is that you have a common definition (that is, a contract) between the host and the plugins and it's a lot easier to avoid mismatches between your functions.

I would start with the complete example given in the article (as I did myself several years ago) and build it up from there.