hello everyone,i'm really new at java...but they said that an I.T student like me should learn and apply Java very well.I always try my best( as every1 do) to learn and apply Java codes or whatever...but this time,i'm very confused.this is related to incrementing and decrementing values.

our Instructor ordered us to make 2 separate programs.

first 1 has this process:(INPUT VALUE MAY VARY DEPENDING ON THE USER)

ex:
INPUT NUMBER:5
OUTPUT:

(actually, the asterisks should form like a pyramid NOT a right triangle)

2nd prog:(about !(factorial)(INPUT VALUE MAY VARY DEPENDING ON THE USER)
INPUT:5
OUTPUT:125

i wonder what is the right code for these 2 machine problem..
i'm very sorry because i'm new at these...hope 4 ur help..tnx :D

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

First write a program to read an integer from the user.
Then add a loop to print out '*'s from 1 a line to the number per line.
See println() and print() for doing the output.

Type in your code, compile it and execute it. Come back if you need more help.

Try this one & Come back if you need more help

import java.util.Scanner;

class Gayan{
	public static void main(String args[]){

//get number from user

Scanner AB=new Scanner(System.in);
	System.out.println("Enter the number:-");
	int x=AB.nextInt();

//print asterisks pyramid

for(int a=0;a<x;a++){
			for(int b=4;b>a;b--){
				System.out.print(" ");
			}
			for(int c=0;c<=a;c++){
				System.out.print("*");
			}
			for(int d=0;d<a;d++){
				System.out.print("*");
			}
			System.out.println();
		}
	}
}