hi everyone,

Originally I had a script like: telnet host port then type STATUS for checking remote server,local server status and connection. In order to omit typing "STATUS", now I'm trying combine these two commands into one line, how to write it?
or do we have another way to achieve the same purpose?

I'm a newbie of Unix, the question I already asked many people, but still cannot get a answer, really hope someone can teach me how to solve the problem. thank you~

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

if the host supports ssh, that would be the way to go.

thank you, griswolf. but how can I check the host support ssh or not?

I've checked process(ps -ef|grep ssh), and its alive. but what is the way to use ssh?

I have Filezilla in my computer, but I still cannot understand how to make one command to check remote server(with port) status.

Filezilla makes use of the ssh file transfer protocol, but it is not otherwise an SSH client. Are you saying you want the port status of the telnet daemon on the particular port? That would not work with SSH which is just a way to do generic work on the remote machine (anything from a shell session to running a single shell command to running a big script to ...)

seems like SSH cannot work for my prupose. And exactly, I need to check two particular port status of the telnet daemon. My manager asked me to write into one command or shell and shows the result directly, so that operator didn't need to type any word. Do we have another way to solve the problem?

Here's an interesting thread: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/linux-programming-scripting/63702-can-you-write-script-starts-telnet-then-input-commands-into-telnet.html

And the answer appears to be "You can learn to do it". I seem to maybe remember messing with expect a dozen years ago, but that was then and this is now... Here's an example (http://www.computing.net/answers/unix/a-script-to-telnet-a-service/6542.html):
The expect syntax looks like this:

spawn "/bin/sh"