Hi all,
I'm completely new to C but have dabbled with Bash scripting before. I've been trying to get my head around pointers etc.

I have a small routine to check for the existence of a string in a file and print to screen, I claim no originality it's a mish mash of what's on net. i hope it's a start of a larger program eventually so I want it to be simple.

Now, it did work, just once and was correct, matching the string in a file but since then it refuses to work.

I'm puzzled as to why. If anyone can point me in right direction.

Here's the code I have :-

#include <string.h>

#include <stdio.h>

#include <stdlib.h>	
FILE *fp;	 

int main() {

char SearchText[]="#!/bin/ash"; /* Search String. */
char MainText[80];

if ((fp = fopen("/etc/rc.d/rc.local","r")) == NULL) { return; }

while (feof(fp) == 0)

{  fgets( MainText,80,fp );

if (strcmp(MainText,SearchText) == 0 )
		printf("strings are equal\n");
	else 
		printf("strings are different\n");

printf("%s", MainText); /* See what MainText actually is */
 }

fclose(fp);

return(0);

}

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Except for using feof() (see this) the code looks fine. More info is needed.

Can you paste the content of the input file ?

Also I do not understand the rationale behind the number 80 ?Can some one explain why the size of the temp buffer is 80

First of all, you have taken the search string wrong...
It will be

char SearchText[]="#!/bin/sh"; // not "#!/bin/ash"...right?"

...a silly mistake !!!
Second thing is, still it wont work as fgets is taking \n together with the string you are reading as one line from the file.
So, your MainText is containing "#!/bin/sh\n" and so it wont match...
You can try changing your SearchText to "#!/bin/sh\n", and it will work...
To be sure to what I told, print both the strings and check it...

printf("\n####%s####%s####\n", SearchText, MainText); /* See what both the string contains */