Hello!
So this is pathetically easy as programs go in the C language (i hope).

I am working on a variation of the Hello World program (as I am just starting to learn C, solo).
I am using the C All-in-One for dummies book, and I got a little ways into it about a year or more ago, but stopped due to school studies. Anyway, I'm finding a little more time to tackle it again, and it's driving me banana sandwiches!

I can't get it to display the text in the windows command line (cmd.exe).

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
    puts("Greetings, human!");
    return(0);
}

I am using the vim text editor (www.vim.org), as before, and Bloodshed Dev C++ for my compiler, & running the program in cmd.exe (windows 7 pro 64 bit).

I know the program is working (sorta) because it doesn't give me any error message.

the author guides you in configuring/setting up your compiler and everything he has told me works. It is only when I run this program... I run it and no error message. simply a small pause with no texts showing and it goes back to the directory, awaiting my next command. I started to look on google to see if the puts function was just the wrong function to use, but it's already 230am..lol and i've had it working before on the same machine, but on the Home Premium version of windows 7 64 bit.

any suggestions on where I can start to troubleshoot this?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Try using printf("Greetings, human!"); (just a guess, honestly)

How are you getting your code from Vim to the IDE? (in other words are you opening a project for it..or?) If you're writing in Vim, you could just possibly skip the IDE and compile right from the command line.

There's nothing wrong with your code - runs fine. There are some good C IDE's (integrated development environments), with editors, help buttons, and messages from the compiler and linker, and debugger.