Hello all,

I've had some java experience and looking at my uni units next semester, 1 involves using C, so I decided to start coding C :p. Is there anything wrong with the program structure below? I think there is also some code duplication in there also.

#include <stdio.h>

/*
This program is designed to convert kelvin into
fahrenhiet or celsius.
*/

int main()
{
   int kelvin;
   char type;

printf("Welcome to the temperature conversion program!\n");

readTemp(kelvin);
   readType(type);
}

void readType(char type)
{
    int kelvin, celsius, fahrenhiet;

printf("Do you wish to convert the temperature to (c) for Celsius, or (f) for Fahrenheit");
    getchar();
    scanf("%c", &type);
    switch(type)
    {
        case 'c' :

celsius = convertC(kelvin, celsius);
        break;

case 'f' :
        fahrenhiet = convertF(fahrenhiet, celsius, kelvin);
        break;

default:
        printf("You did not enter correct letter!");
        break;
    }
}

void convertC(int kelvin, int celsius)
{
    (celsius = (kelvin - 273));
     if(celsius < 1)
        {
            printf("The water is in a solid state at %d degrees celsius.\n", celsius);
        }
        else if(celsius > 0 && celsius < 100)
        {
            printf("The water is in a liquid state at %d degrees celsius.\n", celsius);
        }
        else
        {
            printf("The water is in a gas state at %d degrees celsius.\n", celsius);
        }
}

void convertF(int fahrenhiet, int celsius, int kelvin)
{
    (celsius = (kelvin - 273));
    (fahrenhiet = (9 * celsius / 5) + 32);
     if(fahrenhiet < 33)
        {
            printf("The water is in a solid state at %d degrees fahrenhiet.\n", fahrenhiet);
        }
        else if(fahrenhiet > 32 && fahrenhiet < 212)
        {
            printf("The water is in a liquid state at %d degrees fahrenhiet.\n", fahrenhiet);
        }
        else
        {
            printf("The water is in a gas state at %d degrees fahrenhiet.\n", fahrenhiet);