Hello everyone! Im new to programming and Im working on an assignment but I keep running into trouble. My assignment is to make a trivia game and although I have made pretty good progress, I am stuck on one particular part.

The part I am stuck at is I am trying to read a string variable into an array. I have no code yet because I am exactly sure how to approach this. The string variable holds questions so I want to read each question into the array that way I can call them in their perspective index. There is a space between each question in the string variable, is there a way to write a for loop to read each question into the array at a specific index?

Thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

You should clarify what you mean either "read from an array" or "write into an array"... I'm not sure which one you mean.

If you have a string that contains all questions.. then I guess you have to do a for-loop for each character until you hit a '?' character and take the string before and including the ? and append it to the array, then continue with the rest of the string until there is nothing left. At the end you will have an array. You can use "std::vector<std::string>" for the array and "insert()" to add and operator [index] to get a question in particular. Well.. I'm sure you will want to use a struct or class that holds the question string and the right answer string too.

Since you keep saying "array", I wonder if you don't want a multi-dimensional char array?

char myCharArray [][80] =
    {"This is question 1",
     "This is question 2",
     "This is question 3",
     "This is question 4"};

If your assignment is for a C++ course, you better do this instead of the above:

std::vector<std::string> questionArray;
questionArray.push_back("This is question 1");
questionArray.push_back("This is question 2");
questionArray.push_back("This is question 3");
questionArray.push_back("This is question 4");