Hello,

Im rather new to C, but I was struck with one curiosity as I delve into it.

From what I understand, there is not supposed to be any support for string-datatypes in the language itself; you need to import libraries to get this support (where the strings are actually implemented as char[]).

However the syntax allows you to specify a string as "blah blah".
What I mean is: the syntax gives special meaning to quotationmarks - interpreting data therein as strings.

Doesn't it seem odd that the syntax would allow you to write something that explicitly requires libraries to be included in order to be actually understood?

I know Java has this same principle, but there the String object is included in java.lang, which is always automatically imported. So there's no way that you could not include the String object.

Comments on this? Have I misunderstood something? Is it or is it not odd? I would like to hear some comments. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm going to be waiting for a die-hard C person to tell me i'm completely wrong on this...but anyway, here is my educated guess on the issue. The C programming langauge and pretty much every one i have used, allows the use of the double quotes. This is not to say its to create a "string" object, but rather to allow the compiler to seperate text from a variable. Without the double quote or some kind of marker parsing the source file would be a lot more difficult or even an impossible impossible task.

Java implements a "string" class, but in the underlying code it is implemented the same as it would be done in C. Java's "string" class also has built in array index checking (to prevent over-runs) which is one thing they did to make Java more secure then C. You cannot even resize a string in Java, if you change it you have to create a new one.