I am experiencing a problem with turbo c while I execute odd loops. The compiler doesnt wait till I give a yes or a no. It just jumps out of the loop. Can anyone help me?Is it a problem with the compiler or my program. The latter is not possible since I tried out a similar program from a book and got similar results. I have Turbo C v3.0 downloaded from the internet.Also, the compiler doesn't seem to understand getch and clrscr functions.
Program was;

#include<stdio.h>
void main()
{
       int i;
       char q='y';
       while(q=='y')
       {
             printf("Enter the number");
             scanf("%d",&i);
             printf("The number you have entered is    %d",i);             
             printf("Want to enter another number y/n\n")
             scanf("%c",&q);
        }
}

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Is there any particular reason why you want to use such compiler?

Explicit facts

No I am a beginner to c and it was suggested that I use this one.

>Can anyone help me?
Post your code, or a suitable facsimile of your code that exhibits the problem.

>Is it a problem with the compiler or my program. The latter is not possible
>since I tried out a similar program from a book and got similar results.

It's not possible that you wrote bad code? It has to be a problem with the compiler? Keep in mind that Turbo C was a mature environment in its day, and a bug in simple loop execution isn't exactly one of those deep dark corners where I'd expect new bugs to be found by beginners in a popular and well tested compiler.

Oh, I see you edited your post with some code. The problem is that the second scanf is reading a newline character left over from the previous call to scanf. 'y' != '\n', so the loop terminates. This is a classic problem with stream input in C. Search the forum for flushing stdin and you'll find plenty of discussions on the topic.

No I am a beginner to c and it was suggested that I use this one.

Thought so.